Atlanta Pagan Roundtable

“A true leader has the confidence to stand alone, the courage to make tough decisions, and the compassion to listen to the needs of others. He does not set out to be a leader, but becomes one by the quality of his actions and the integrity of his intent.”

~ Mike Jones

The Atlanta Pagan Roundtable is a cooperative group of Pagans active in their social and spiritual communities dedicated to education, leadership, activism, networking, outreach, and community building.

To assemble a group of pagan leaders together, as we all know, has been a difficult task in the past. When I was invited to an earlier meeting, I was hesitant to go, but I admire the people that want to make a difference and I decided to go on the adventure. The first meeting I attended there was a room full of well organized and delightfully serious pagans sitting in a large circle. That day proved to be invigorating, and I met interesting excited people from the Pagan community which was not what I had expected.

As for the next meeting, many emails and scheduling issues later, the next was a go and we were all planning on a visit to the Stone Mountain area. Due to an illness, an unfortunate circumstance, the original meeting place needed to be changed. “Oh Great, here we go!” I thought as I read my emails. To my surprise, Aislinn of Pagan Market Place jumped in and graciously offered up her house and the meeting was back on.

As per instructed, “Please be prompt” we were graciously invited into her beautiful home. The group organizers and creators were very well prepared to lead the discussion. There was a dry erase board set up listing the outline created by Oakthorne. We made our casual conversation and began on standard time.

The objective of the meeting was to discuss the topic of “What are some concrete ways we can bring our goals to manifestation?”, with a recap of previous meetings. We had brainstorm harvesting, open discussion and project organization, and finished with a dinner and open social time.

 

 

 

The meeting ran smoothly, and many groups were represented. Pagan Market Place of Ideas, North Georgia Solitaries, Pagan Assistance Fund, Wisdom of the Goddess School of Witchcraft, A Spritual Blend, Gryphon Song, Grove of Draconis, Temple of the Red Lotus, The Unicorn Tradition, Sylvan Forest, and Blue Lotus Grove. There are many other groups involved with Atlanta Pagan Round Table which were not able to attend.

All in all, the meeting was pretty interesting, productive, and what I would call successful. We discussed ideas, came to consensus, and decided on affirmative actions to move forward and create our future. I know one group that will hold a spot on my calendar from this point forward, and hopefully the gathering will be as personal and well attended in the future.  I now truly understand the purpose and meaning of the Roundtable meetings credo: “Community Without Walls”, and just what that means.

Check  out Pagan Roundtable on face book and Atlanta Round Table Yahoo group.

5 Comments

Filed under Alabama, Georgia, Opinion/Editorial, Public Event

5 responses to “Atlanta Pagan Roundtable

  1. Michelle Bryant

    Thanks for the great article, Luminias. The Round Table was the first time I have brought the Wisdom of the Goddess school out into the public eye and I am glad I chose such a wonderful group of people for my tiny unveiling. My students and I are proud to be members of the pagan community of Atlanta and we will continue to support the Round Table and what it stands for.

  2. Cara

    So what are the goals?

    • Saleena

      The website has an official list of the goals we established during the meeting. It boils down to being an active community. We have a copy of the meeting notes, and notes from previous meetings on the yahoo group website.

  3. What a wonderful description of this effort! This was my third meeting with this group and I’m just as hopeful and optimistic as I was when I first heard about it. Kudos to everyone involved for keeping it focused and moving forward.

  4. fallen angels=demons=aliens in ufos=ascended masters=ghosts=channeled entities=dead relatives during seances=spirit guides=pagan gods and goddesses=greys=automatic writing spirits=ouija board movers=meditation spirits=psychic’s source of info=astrologer’s helpers.
    tarot cards and crystal ball are tricks to fool the eye. in reality, demons show pictures to these mediums/seers/astrologers/psychics/etc.

Leave a Reply

